How to Speak Like a Mexicano: I’m Down with the Kids and the Facebook

10 Apr

Oh, ya’ll Americans think you’re so cool with your LOLs and your TTYLs and your ROFLMAOs… you are nothing compared to the teens of Mexico.

While roaming around on Facebook, I found some comments that are surprisingly understandable to me, but you will definitely need some help translating. Here are some examples of popular chat fads going around the teeny bopper crowd in Mexico.

-The “oO”: using a lowercase followed by a capital “O”, or a zero

-“Q” instead of “que” (meaning “what” or “that”)

-drawing out vowel sounds through repetitive letters (“obvioooooooo” = “duuuuh”)

-“x” instead of “ch”

-“x” instead of  “por” (meaning “for”) … yes, this means that “por que” (why) is simply wittled down to “xq”. I use that one a lot!

-general substitution of “z”, “x” and “u” whenever possible because… that’s how a baby talks and it’s cute?? I dunno.

Here are a few examples I found on Facebook:

Mexican Girl Version:

ei..ei..niño..!! k ondaz..komo andamzz e..!! wauu…k xulote t vez en la pika e..!! azi o maz mamey jajaja…!!! wau..kon k t vas al dady ee…y nu m llevaz..jajaja… malozo…!!
jeje ntc..niño..wenu puezz..m saludaz a tu bro…. sale moxo..m voy..cuidate y ya nu tomes..e…bolaxo…jaja..!!bbexxitozzzzzzzzz

My Translation:

Hey… hey… kid! What’s up? How are we doing, huh? Wow! How cute you look in that picture! Could you look any more buff hahaha? Wow, what’s this about you going to Dady’O (a nightclub), huh? and you’re not taking me… haha… meanie! Haha just kidding … kid… well anyway, say hi to your brother for me. Ok cutie, I’m leaving. Take care and stop drinking, you alcoholic! haha kisses!

Mexican Girl Version:

q oOorroOor kita wesa fOotOo salgOo del navOo jjajaa…we..vamOos a bailar el sabadOo

My Translation:

What horror! Take that picture down. I look awful haha. Dude, let’s go dancing on Saturday.

Mexican Girl Version:

AMOOOOOOOOOOOR; aaaww hermosoo de mi coraazon teeqieeroomuxoxoxoxoxo graaciaas por todooo lo qe has hecho xtii! por laaas sorpresaass&asi n.n aaaww TE VOI A EXTRAÑAAR ESTE FIN u____________u
teemegaaadoroooheermosoo! teamoooooo♥

My Translation:

My love! Aww, beautiful boy of my heart I love you so so so so much. Thanks for everything you’ve done for me! For all the surprises and stuff. I’m going to miss you this weekend! I super duper adore you, gorgeous! Love you!

Mexican Girl Version:

seeeeep (qeeee loooosupeeeradorooooomasqeanadiiieenelmundo) peeerooo sssshhhh HAHAAHAHAH

My Translation:

Yes (that I super adore him more than anyone in the world) but shh HAHAHAHAHA

17 Responses to “How to Speak Like a Mexicano: I’m Down with the Kids and the Facebook”

  1. Lauren April 10, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    This is really hilarious!!! Seriously, we don’t think about how other langages translate slag.

    Happy SITS Saturday Sharefest!!

  2. Kim April 10, 2010 at 11:09 pm #

    That’s hilarious!!!! Thanks for the 411~
    xoxo,
    Kim
    Happy SITS to you too!

  3. Leslie Limon April 10, 2010 at 11:25 pm #

    ThE NuMbEr OnE rEaSoN i LeFt MySpAcE 4 FaCeBoOk. I cOuLdN’t StAnD 2 rEaD oNe MoRe Of ThOsE aNnOyInG MeSsAgEs. I’vE nOtIcEd ThAt tHe YoUnGeR cRoWd AlSo LiKeS 2 tYpE lIkE tHiS! 🙂

    • gringation April 12, 2010 at 4:52 am #

      I’d forgotten about the alternating capitalization!! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  4. Linda April 11, 2010 at 12:06 am #

    I can’t even read it in English! Facebook is one strange place!
    A SITS Friend

  5. Life with Kaishon April 11, 2010 at 12:49 am #

    I can barely understand ours! I just learned with this meant: smh
    shaking my head
    Forever I was wondering.
    You are so cool. I need to be cooler! : )

  6. Cesar April 11, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    I get a headache everytime I try to read one of those damn messages, as if slang wasn’t bad enough now we have to decrypt them. 🙂

  7. Ashlie April 11, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    Too funny!

  8. Kathryn April 12, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    Wow- I was about to say “that looks just like a whole different language!” then realized that it would be a ridiculous thing to say. What I meant is that it looks like Japanese or Russian or something! By what stretch of the imagination does ‘x’ equal ‘por’??

    • gringation April 12, 2010 at 4:54 am #

      That’s actually one of the few things that makes sense. In Spanish, they say “por” when multiplying like the English word “times”… as in 3 x 2 (“tres por dos”). Hence, “x” = por.

  9. Amy April 12, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    I wish I could get away with just saying “Q” for “what”!

  10. Fumiko April 13, 2010 at 3:31 am #

    Oh… butif Miguel Cervantes (author of the granddaddy of all novels written in Spanish: Don Quixote) could only see this now! This would be as unintelligible to us the Spanish he uses as this would be to him.

    He must be a spinning top by now, him rolling in his grave and all…

  11. Brooke April 13, 2010 at 8:38 pm #

    I don’t think I could learn that! But thanks for the translation!! My hubby types like that, but not cause he’s “young and hip” haha but because that’s really how he spells things in Spanish!!

  12. Rachel April 13, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

    the thing i notice most on the facebook (and am most annoyed by) is the prolongation of vowels. because it’s not just one word for emphasis, it’s every other word. and because there are sooooo maaaaany vowels to prolong, it’s unstoppable.

    i like your speaking like a mexicano series 🙂

  13. Magpie April 14, 2010 at 12:42 am #

    They text like this in Spain as well: ‘pq t exo d Mnos’ (porque te echo de menos). Took me ages to figure it out! Ridiculous! Though to be fair its just s bd s dis typ f crp 4 sho.

  14. GRRRL TRAVELER April 15, 2010 at 3:32 pm #

    Wow. pretty trippy- I love when you do these kind of cultural insider posts.

    Not quite sure how it goes in Korea yet, but I’m pretty sure the tripped out emoticon texting thing is big here. I occasionally see it on FB (btw- while the rest of the world is on FB, Koreans- the inbred country that they are- have their own social networking system so there’s not a whole wealth of them on FB) and I have them on my Korean phone for message texting. I guess every country has got their own social txting language! lol.

  15. cindy April 17, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Happy SITS day…. very funny about the way those teens communicate…I am puerto rican and I can’t even understand that lingo,,,go figure,,,maybe I’m too old now 😉

Leave a comment