Why, Cancun?: “Apostrophe’s”

11 Feb

I just don’t get it. For some reason, some Mexicans who don’t speak English just love to pretend that they do. It sounds more “fresa” (Mexican term for a snob, elitist, rich person).

The main thing that bugs me about this is the frequent misuse of apostrophes. Many businesses and human beings just throw an apostrophe in there whenever there’s an “s” at the end of a word.

For example, I know a girl named “Christian’s”. I swear. NO JOKE. I have also seen menus reading “2 for the price of 1 beer’s”.

This isn’t to say that Mexicans can’t speak English. I know quite a few who speak very impressive English.

If you want to look cool and speak like a fresa, at least do it right, for the love of God. Bad grammar is never fashionable. (Another one of my pet peeves is the common Mexican misuse of  “fashion” as an adjective… but that’s a post for another day.)

Snapped this while in Bershka at Plaza Las Americas last weekend

13 Responses to “Why, Cancun?: “Apostrophe’s””

  1. CancunCanuck February 11, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    Too true, too true. I taught English here for a long time and the apostrophe issue was always troublesome. This past weekend I saw a sign in the hotel zone stating “Lady’s drink free”. Which lady and why are you giving away her drink? 😉

  2. Bethany February 11, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    This is too funny. I suppose that if I attempted to use proper Spanish grammar I’d fail miserably but the Disney thing is too much.

    Stopping by from SITS.

  3. denise February 11, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    Checking in from SITS to say HI! Stop by and see me! http://extremepersonalmeasures.blogspot.com/

  4. Tina Lane February 11, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Ha. Maybe mastery of the apostrophes comes much later in the language learning process. I can’t speak any other language’s myself. (Insert inappropriate apostrophe.)

    Stopping by from SITS.

  5. Amy Brown February 12, 2010 at 2:56 am #

    Ahem…most Americans make the same mistakes. Sad but true.

  6. laurencancun February 12, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    I’ve always giggled to myself every time I notice a “slight” spelling error!! I mean I’m not perfect, but I’m also not posting signs for the public to see!!! “No smoke here” – well…that’s good!!!

    I don’t think it would cost a lot of these companies to hire someone (us) to write these for them? Disney can surely afford to do this? Don’t you think??!!! LOL!!

    Oh and Fresa…. CLASSIC!!! Jajajajaja !!!

  7. sara ellis February 12, 2010 at 6:40 am #

    I know! isn’t it crazy? hello! it’s not that difficult of a rule to learn … I can’t believe Disney got it wrong on a big sign … what was the printer thinking?

  8. gringation February 12, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    Canuck: If that lady’s drink has tequila in it, I’ll accept!

    Bethany: Agreed. Not sure who was at fault… Disney, or the store. I really hope it’s the store.

    Tina: Apostrophes don’t exist in Spanish, so they must have already learned about them in some class!

    Aunt Amy: Too true.

    Lauren: That actually is my job! I edit web texts in English for a Mexican company! Whenever I see one of these, I think, “I should freelance on the side.”

    Sara: Oh, well. At least you’ve perfected apostrophe use!

  9. Ekua February 12, 2010 at 11:57 pm #

    Uh… I kinda feel like this is a problem in America as well. I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve seen people born and raised here put apostrophes in strange places!

  10. GRRRL TRAVELER February 13, 2010 at 1:12 am #

    Interes’ting note- s’o I gues’s my name would be s’pelled Chris’tine, huh?

    Is this the new S’panglis’h?

  11. Rita February 13, 2010 at 6:45 am #

    This week at the colegio where I teach had a newspaper on a stand in the lobby. It was talking about the school’s participation en the local Olympics. The newspaper had a headline, “El Colegio Ayuda Los Olimpic’s”.

  12. sarah winfree February 16, 2010 at 5:02 am #

    disney is an american company. why did they translate it from english to spanish to english again?

  13. Rachel February 17, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    My favorite example was DALLA’S BAR in the DF. Western-themed, naco-central.

Leave a comment