Show Me Your Office

28 May

I’m back after my mini-hiatus. Three days of avoiding the internet has paid off. I was able to watch the Lost series finale on Wednesday with no spoiler issues whatsoever. Finally we can get back into Show Me Your …

Leslie Limon from Motherhood in Mexico and Brooke from Livin’ la Vida Garcia both asked to see my office. I can’t show too much, since everyone wears uniforms with the company name plastered all over them, but I can show you my desk area.

Sorry Drama Mama, I can’t show you what I look like dressed up for work due to the uniform.

My desk is on the end, by the window.

 

My desk… our office only allows you to have 1 photo and 1 cup/mug/bottle. Very Spartan. I got a nice computer though!

 

I’m technically breaking the desk decor rules with this… but it’s so cute! One of my best friends brought this little booklet back to Cancun for me from the town of Tepoztlan.

 

The view from my window 🙂 This makes me happy no matter what’s going on in life.

 

Wanna know what the weather’s like in the Hotel Zone Monday – Friday from 9 am – 5:30 pm? I can tell ya. Not sure if you can tell in this pic, but we can also see the lagoon. We like to watch parasailers and the small planes that fly promotional banners over the Hotel Zone.

 

Off to the right, I can see the main road by my office. We can see almost all the way down to the airport.

 

Here’s the emergency exit on the ground floor (most will recognize this from a previous post). Excellent job done by our security team, as always. (2 months later, it hasn’t changed, FYI.)

 

For more photos of the view from my desk, you can check here, here and here. (man, I have a lot of posts of my office window. Maybe because for 9 hours a day every day, it’s the most interesting thing going on?)

17 Responses to “Show Me Your Office”

  1. foxy May 28, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Huh… I’m so curious now as to what it is you actually do in that office. And what company is so rigid that they limit you to one photo and one bottle? How odd. Or is that more standard in Mexico?

    • gringation May 28, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

      I work for a travel agency in the web content department. Most of my coworkers are Mexican, and I edit their English text before it goes online. (hotel and destination descriptions, mostly) I also translate a lot of things from Spanish into English.

      The desk limitations are because we’re doing some Japanese efficiency system called the “5 S’s”… involving getting rid of things you don’t need and whatever. BOOOORING.

  2. Single and Sane May 28, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    The spot next to the window makes up for the lack of decor…at least it goes a long way towards making up for it. =)

  3. Julie M. May 28, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Aside from the rockin’ computer, your next best asset has got to be your window seat. That’s definitely a nice perk! The view’s not half bad either. 🙂 Nice digs!

  4. Kristin @ Meanbean May 28, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I am jealous that you’re next to a window, but I love being able to have what I want on my desk. But…I’m dying to know, is that a board screwed into the wall across the emergency exit? So…are you basically screwed if you needed to exit in an emergency?! WHAT IS UP I MUST KNOW?!

    Sorry…pain makes me random and weird.

  5. gringation May 28, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Single – I’d rather have the view than more photos 🙂

    Julie – Yeah I got really lucky! They let me choose my own desk 🙂

    Meanbean – Yes… the board is not only blocking the exit, it’s also lodged under the bar so that you can’t even open the door. The only other exit is a revolving door that requires a passkey. Can you imagine a few hundred people trying to get out that way?

  6. Salt May 28, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Ahhhh that view. It’s almost a good thing that I don’t get to look at that out my office window because I would never get any work done!

  7. Amy May 28, 2010 at 7:04 pm #

    I almost feel like I need to take this “sparse” concept and apply it to my home??? (aka, I could use a major declutter session or six)

    Pretty computer and view. 🙂 Everyone else at my office has a phone with caller ID so they can screen there calls. None for Amy, so I have to answer them all in case it’s my boss.

  8. Leslie Limon May 28, 2010 at 10:01 pm #

    Yay! Finally got to see your office! I am so jealous of the window and the view! My entire house only has one window, but the view isn’t as nice as the one from your office.

    Can’t wait to see what you’re going to show us next! 😉

  9. Kathryn May 28, 2010 at 11:12 pm #

    It’s awesome that you get the window seat! I can’t believe that you have desk decoration rules, though- absolutely crazy! And now we all know your phone number, so we can call you all the time! 🙂

  10. The Drama Mama May 28, 2010 at 11:30 pm #

    I would say you have the best seat in the office!! Love it. THanks for sharing pics. I bet you are really cute in your work uniform.

  11. Krysten May 29, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    I’d totally rather have a nice computer than a nice phone =-)

  12. cheri May 29, 2010 at 5:31 pm #

    with a view and a computer like that, who cares if you’re phone doesnt work?

    ah, the view can take away all the stress…

  13. GRRRL TRAVELER May 30, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    Wow, this is actually very nice and normal from what I might expect. It’s your standard western office with the exception of that barred emergency door!

  14. becca May 31, 2010 at 2:45 am #

    view+computer= you totally win

  15. Magpie May 31, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    I love that fire escape, it’s amazing!

    I will of course love it a lot less if there’s ever a fire and it’s a reason you’re all burnt to a crisp.

  16. Brooke June 1, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    Wow, I know it’s probably boring to you, but it makes me want to clean up the clutter all over my office! ::sigh:: and that window….we won’t talk about that. At least I do get to go outside everyday.

Leave a comment